Retro-Active Elevator Music

I’m trying to think of different ways to start these other than “a few weeks ago” but, at this point, I really can’t come up with anything. God help when the self-proclaimed creative can’t think of a good way to butter up his toasty posts.

So, a few weeks ago I was subjected to more group torture where I had to sit down with a group and write a five-minute play. It could be literally anything, it didn’t have to be this whole ‘big’ thing. Maybe that’s part of the attraction regarding this module – each week is some fresh, new, elaborate torture of wit. It’s pretty damn amazing.

My group’s script, I hear none of you ask? Well, it was a short thing. I’d be lying if I said I had any solid notes about it – while we spent a good amount of time discussing the premise there wasn’t any specific dialogue. I think of what I wrote down more as the ‘outlines’ for whatever-the-fuck we had to do, which was essentially;

  1. Person 1 and 2 enter elevator.
  2. Person 1 and 2 small-talk.
  3. Person 3 enters.
  4. More small-talk.
  5. Person 4 enters.
  6. Elevator breaks down.
  7. Awkwardness ensues.

I’m not an entirely big fan of standing up to talk in front of people. At all. When it’s people I barely know I do this whole thing where it’s hood up, hands in pockets, hug myself until I get to sit down. Don’t make eye-contact with anyone. It tends to get better once I know the people I’m speaking to, mind, but doing shit like that just adds a whole lot of pressure. I think I joked on yesterday’s post about waking up in cold sweats?

Well, this sort’ve thing is the fuel for that. My prerogative since then has to sit as far back in the class as possible and, while not necessarily stay silent (I don’t mind speaking as long as its not within everyones line-of-sight) just… well, stay out of sight.

So far, so good.

Leave a Reply

