Bumpkin Octopussing

It’s been a few months since I’ve updated this site. Every once in a while I click on my bookmarked hyperlink and stare at my front page – not with the intention of writing anything I assure you, my glorified reader, merely to look for the sake of looking.

I’ve been living in London for a few weeks now – by a ‘few’ I mean closer to two months than one (if my time-keeping is correct, as often it isn’t). Every day I think ‘I’ll have to update the blog at some point.’ Naturally – for me – ‘some point’ becomes ‘eventually’ and ‘eventually’ gets lost somewhere along the line when the days start to blur by and any topic I would’ve wrote about is lost to the aether of absent thoughts and what-should’ve-beens.

“I’m not afraid of commitment. I commit to things all the time. It’s the following through on that commitment that I take issue with.”  – Bojack Horseman, S01E01

In all seriousness, I don’t excuse nor justify my slack. It took me long enough to get some sort of semblance to this change of lifestyle. Living in London has had its moments so far – I nearly typed ‘quirks’ but decided against it – most of which is gloriously mundane.  There’s a certain degree of yoyeurism involved – not in any ‘creepy’ sense but more in a societal sense; waking up in the morning, going to the train station, watching all these other people who’ve just woken up and come to the same place, some of which going to the same place. Not many of them talk or interact and they all avoid eye-contact with one-another – everyone has a place to be. The stark contrast from being in North Wales to here is baffling and if I weren’t already used to the city (due to multiple get-aways with the family and two other trips here this year) then its liable that the country-bumpkin within would’ve gone full-octopus – that is to say I’d have started eating myself due to stress.

More from me soon.

-L

Liam Morgan @ Twitter – Liam Morgan @ Instagram

Leave a Reply

