FdA Second Year, Week 11 (30/11/2015) – Orwell Binded

Binding books is a pain. If you can even call what I did for these binding – I attached a hardback to these ready-bound paper-back books. I’ve only done Animal Farm and Nineteen Eighty-Four so far (I’ve ran out of materials to do Down and Out…) using the actual books from Penguin – so, yes, these are fully functional prototypes using ordinary printer paper as dust-jackets.

Nobody said this was a glamorous job. Once I’ve finished doing the third book and measured out all the dust jackets properly then I’ll print ’em off on gloss paper to display.

Because that’s what books are, right? Decorations? Yep.

"George Orwell's 'Down and Out in Paris and London'" cover design by Liam Morgan.
“George Orwell’s ‘Down and Out in Paris and London'” cover design by Liam Morgan.

Before I draw this brief to a close (all of the contextual information and the process can be found here) I’ll note that I used Gill Sans on the blurb after a very lovely recommendation. The original font and attempts at making the back cover were a bit… italic.

God, I hope that doesn’t sound bad out of context.

Here’s just how ugly the original digital concepts looked before I got around to adding the nice Orwell signature.

-L.A. (Liam Morgan)

Parc Menai Foundation Degree Art and Design – Liam Morgan @ TwitterLiam Morgan @ Instagram – Helvetica | Gary Hustwit – Penguin Books

Leave a Reply

