Foundation Degree Week Nine – Acrylics

Applied Arts is quickly becoming one of my favourite areas in college – maybe its because I don’t have to rely on a bunch of hormonal, unreliable computers which throw a fucking paddy every single time you try to save your graphical work on the college network. I can’t count the amount of times its fucked me over since the start of term.

Another reason I like applied arts is maybe the fact that I’ve become increasingly jaded with my use of computers to produce work, and I quite enjoy the whole “piss around and see what happens” approach I have to this work. Truthfully, I think all of the above have contributed a little towards me doing more tactile work than computer generated, and that’s not entirely a bad thing.

Anyway, here’s some of the experimentation I did in the ninth week of the Foundation Degree course (the week of the 10th). The process is fairly straightforward with each – heat up plastic, put thing on plastic, press plastic.

String plait and blue netting crushed between two sheets of plain transparent acrylic.
String plait and blue netting crushed between two sheets of plain transparent acrylic.

WP_20141118_15_17_01_Pro[1]

Fabrics crushed between two sheets of acrylic.
Fabrics crushed between two sheets of acrylic.
Sheets of acrylic melted together and pressed.
Sheets of acrylic melted together and pressed.
Sheets of acrylic melted together and pressed.
Sheets of acrylic melted together and pressed.
Sheets of acrylic melted together and pressed.
Sheets of acrylic melted together and pressed.
White piece of acrylic plastic pressed against a carved piece of wood.
White piece of acrylic plastic pressed against a carved piece of wood.

-L.A. (Liam Morgan)

Parc Menai Foundation Degree Art and Design

Leave a Reply

